DLTK's Crafts for Kids
United States Crafts, Facts, and Activities for Kids

Disclaimer: Please keep in mind this website is meant for children, so I do generalize and simplify quite a bit!

For a resource for North Americans (and others) to find out where they reside, please see this interactive map of Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages. A disclaimer from the project: "This map does not represent or intend to represent official or legal boundaries of any Indigenous nations. To learn about definitive boundaries, contact the nations in question."

image of the spectacular Bryce Canyon National Park in Utah.

Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah, United States
Photographed by @lwtt93; used with permission under C.C. BY 2.0

The U.S. has no official language. English is the most popular language. English is also its de facto official language; a de facto official language means that a language is not legally official on documents but rather that it operates as an official language in day-to-day life!

The U.S. is a VERY linguistically diverse country. Other popular languages, with populations of these language speakers in the millions or thousands, include Spanish, Mandarin, Cantonese, Hokkein (and other Chinese languages), Tagalog (including Filipino), Vietnamese, Arabic, French, Korean, Russian, German, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Portuguese, Italian, Polish, Yiddish, Japanese, Persian (including Farsi, Dari, and Tajik), Gujarati, Telugu, Bengali, Tai-Kadai (including Thai and Lao), Urdu, Greek, Punjabi, Tamil, Armenian, Serbo-Croation (including Bosnian, Croatian, Montenegrin, and Serbian), Hebrew, Hmong, Bantu languages (including Swahili), Khmer, and Navajo of the Navajo nation.

The U.S. is a country found in the Northern Hemisphere and Western Hemisphere of the globe. As of 2021, the United States has 56 political divisions—50 states, 1 federal district, and 5 major territories. The 50 states are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawai’i, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. The federal district is known as Washington, D.C. and is the capital city of the United States. The 5 major territories are America Samoa in Polynesia (South Pacific), Guam in Micronesia (North Pacific), Northern Mariana Islands in Micronesia (North Pacific), Puerto Rico in the Caribbean (North Atlantic), and the U.S. Virgin Islands in the Caribbean (North Atlantic).

The United States shares international land borders with two nations: The Canada–United States border to the north of the Contiguous United States and to the east of Alaska. The Mexico–United States border to the south. The west coast borders the Pacific Ocean, and the east coast borders the Atlantic Ocean.

Capital city:  Washington, D.C.
Language:  English (de facto)
National Animal/Bird:  Bald Eagle (Haliaeetus leucocephalus)
National Flower:  Rose (Rosa)
Currency:  United States dollar (USD)

Fourth of July coloring page

American Fourth of July Ideas
Coloring Pages (Posters)


American Fourth of July Ideas


American Fourth of July Ideas
Games and Puzzles


American Fourth of July Ideas

jigsaw puzzles

American Fourth of July Ideas
Puerto Rico

fourth of july recipes

American Fourth of July Ideas


American Fourth of July Ideas

fourth of july links

Other Fourth of July (USA) Links


USA, Fourth of July and patriotic poetry:

American Holidays